1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Current/former vegetarians?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Hopeful, Nov 5, 2015.

1. Hopeful

Hi everyone,

I'm a vegetarian. I've been one for most of my life... When I was little my mother was a vegetarian and I ate a vegetarian diet until I was 8. At 8, my mom started to eat meat again and I experienced meat for a few years. When I was probably 11 I decided to go back to being a vegetarian again (my friends were vegetarians and I didn't like meat all the much anyway). I've been one ever since I'm about to turn 23.

Last year I considered stopping my vegetarianism but decided against that. Now I'm thinking of it again. I'm torn... I don't have a huge desire to consume meat. I'm mostly thinking of this for convenience sake. I hate always having to be the one to pipe up and say "Oh I can't eat that unless it doesn't have meat". I'm an EMT and I'm joining a new department and whenever I eat group meals I feel like such a burden to have to be the different one.

I don't know. I don't really like eating another animal. But I also don't feel quite the same as I used to about it... I don't know.

I guess what I'm wondering is have any of you gone through this or had friends or family members who did this? And if not, what would you do in my situation?

2. Distant Echo

We all have food we don't like. No one should feel like they have to eat something. Trying it because you want to, yes. Doing it because you feel you have to? No.

3. justin88

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    All but family
    I was a vegetarian for almost 10 years, slowly started eat meat in my early 20's because I felt like I was a burden on everyone else with my vegan demands.