1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Depressed, bad SSRI side effects, help please

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by HuskyPup, Nov 12, 2015.

1. HuskyPup

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Everyone always seems to say what a savior meds can be, but I'm having a hard time seeing this...

I’m not sure where to begin, but I’ve been fighting some pretty bad depression for many years now, and finally decided to try another SSRI, Lexapro, and 3 days in, and the side effects seem pretty horrible, as in it is almost hard to function. I feel very dizzy, and it’s like there’s this pressure in my head/temples, I have TMJ and my jaw/facial pain feel worse, and I also have this blank/depersonalized feeling. My vision also seems off, blurry, and just weird. That, and I feel a bit nauseous. Many years ago, I tried some of the earlier SSRIs (Prozac, Paxil), with very similar results, and people are saying how after so many years of talk therapy, I should give them another go, but I’m not sure I can really take this, if it goes on much longer. I also feel very blank, and it’s hard to think; I feel lethargic, and well, a lot worse. I’ve tried some other meds in the past (Wellbutrin, some of the tricyclics, with similar results). I know this takes time to ‘take effect’ (like 2-4 weeks), and some of the side effects are supposed to go away but this is pretty disheartening, even on a low dosage.