1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Long-distance advice

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Nightstep, Apr 21, 2016.

1. Nightstep

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hello all,
    In the past 6-7 months, I've met the woman of my dreams; she completes me. Going into this relationship, I knew right off the bat she would be leaving for an extended trip of 5-6 months (to hike the Appalachian trail). She left about 3 weeks ago and it has been some of the hardest days to date. She was almost to the point of living with me when she left, so her absence is felt anytime I'm home by myself.
    This is my first long-distance relationship, does anyone have any tips to make things easier? Time to go by quicker? I'm a full-time professional student, so that does help take some time away. But with her being out on the trail, I cannot communicate with her a ton. We text when we can, but her service is spotty. Facetime is a rare occurrence, but treasured when we get to do it. I've written a few letters already and intend to keep doing so.
    Thanks in advance for any advice. Counting down the days until September when she returns.

2. Linus

Gender Pronoun:
    Other
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    This might seem hard, but try taking your mind off of her and take some time for yourself. It's great when you're in a relationship where the other completes you, but spending time with them 24-7 isn't necessarily the healthiest lifestyle. So hang out with other friends, work on the things that you love, do activities during the day, or go out to events. Then at the end of the day you can call your partner, and you'll both hopefully have something to share about your day.

#2 Linus, Apr 21, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2016
  3. Nightstep

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone