1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Driving on the motorway (England)

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Robert, May 18, 2016.

1. Robert

Robert Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hey, I'm a new driver and have only been on a big motorway for an extended period of time once before - and that was at night with barely any cars on the road.

I was just wondering which lane, in a 3 or 4 lane motorway is the best lane to be in generally?
    When I was on the motorway before, I stayed in the left hand lane (slow lane) but I had trouble and felt pressured letting people from slip roads on to the motorway.
    I'm thinking the middle lane is probably best as the right hand lane is basically for people who speed. But i know that the middle lane may be problematic as I will have to be on the look out for traffic merging from both the other lanes.

Any other advice would be appreciated. My journey will take around 4 hours.

Thanks!

2. TraceElement

I'm in the US, but im guessing that motorways are what we call expressways. I generally like to be in the middle lane(s) so im not always having to let people in and there isn't anyone right on my bumper trying to speed.

3. MissSkywalker

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    I'm not a driver but dad has always told me that it is not good to hogg the middle lane all the time. I'm not sure of his reason but he usually sticks to the left hand side lane.

4. gibson234

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    To the left most lane unless you want to overtake someone.

5. LHecW

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning