1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help learning to love yourself

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by tvc15, May 25, 2016.

1. tvc15

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Hi everyone! I just joined the forum and was wondering if anyone could offer some advice. I had been questioning my sexuality for at least five years (but probably even longer), and have recently finally accepted myself as bisexual. It was a difficult journey and I had to overcome a lot of internalized biphobia and heteronormative societal pressure, but a few months ago I finally managed to come out to myself and am comfortable identifying as bisexual (and happy to have finally managed to realize it and come out to myself :icon_bigg). However, after so many years of being exposed to these biphobic and heteronormative discourses, I'm having a difficult time learning to love myself as I am and to be proud of my identity. Watching advice and experience videos by other bisexuals on YouTube has been helpful, as well as finding bisexual public figures to look up to. I was wondering if anyone could offer any advice or ways that helped them to learn to overcome these negative views from society and love themselves. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

2. Lance

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone