1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do you apply for colleges? (US)

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Kodo, Jun 23, 2016.

1. Kodo

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I am looking to apply for colleges to go to in the fall semester of 2017. Hopefuly, I could apply early enough to be considered for scholarships. But I am somewhat at a loss because I've never done this before and don't really know where to start. I only have a very vague knowledge of how this goes, what with all the different applications and financial aid and deadlines being so confusing.

Does anyone know of good resources I can look into which would walk me through the process? Or simply have advice?

I graduated from highschool in 2015, and thus do not have access to a Guidance Counselor's help. I would ask my parents, but they really don't have time to help me with any of this. By the time they came around, I'd have missed important deadlines (which is why I didn't go to college a year ago). That said, I'm trying to be proactive and independent about it and could use all the help I can possibly get.

Thanks in advance.

#1 Kodo, Jun 23, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2016
  2. HM03

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Here (Canada) there is a specific website that you apply on.

If you know what school you want to apply to, I'd phone or email them and ask. More specifically the Liaison office of the university (dunno if that's just a Canadian thing or not). Trust me, most universities are very eager to help you out if it means getting your tuition money aha.

#2 HM03, Jun 23, 2016
  3. yuanzi

I applied to a bunch of graduate schools but I didn't do undergraduate in the US. According to my school's website, the process is fairly similar though.