1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I Have Zero Experience - How Do I Meet People?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by CoconutOilLady, Sep 3, 2016.

1. CoconutOilLady

So I know that this answer can be googled... but there's something more reassuring about getting advice in real time, from people with more experience and insight than me.

I live in the UK, I'm 18 and I've never dated. I've only kissed one boy (and I may as well have been kissing a plate.) However I've only ever had two crushes (not including famous figures,) and they were both teachers. It's not even an age thing though - it's just that I'm attracted to maturity and intelligence. I can't relate to that common story of people developing strong feelings for their best friends, because for me, as soon as I make friends with someone - that's it.
    With both the real-life and famous crushes, those feelings only seem to develop once those people have 'grown' on me. I don't have the ability to just look at someone and find them attractive. Their personality MUST be known as well.
    On top of this I have difficulty making friends. I'm not mean or anything, I just find it very difficult to click with people, and they find it difficult to click with me. So because of this and my very low number of crushes, I don't really know how to go about dating.

So:
    I'm kind of skeptical about online dating, but I was wondering if anyone here could share their experience of it (I'm not demanding a lot of detail or anything,) and change my mind?

If there are other ways of meeting people, what are they?

What is it like the first time you go out?

I know this sounds desperate and like I'm trying to rush, and I know I'm young, but I've felt left out a while and I want to feel like I at least have an idea of what to expect when I do decide to go out. I haven't come out to anyone at all, although I think my mum knows.