1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LGBTQ+ club at school

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by nightowl88, Oct 25, 2016.

1. nightowl88

Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Okay so to start I had a youth leadership conference thing with my school today and one of the things we did was say something bad about our school and one of the things I had was acceptance of diversity especially related to sexuality and gender. I got the idea to start an LGBTQ+ club to help promote it at school. I was looking for some help though. I am not very good at these things and I don't really know what to do with this. First is LGBTQ+ the right term I'm horrible at keeping up with the right term for things and don't want to be incorrect. I have already found a teacher to be an advisor and my principle said if we come up with some goals he is all for it but I don't really know where to go from here. I have talked to some students already and am talking to more tomorrow but I am not exactly popular at school and my school doesn't really have any clubs or anything to get ideas for how to start from. I also worry people will look at this as a bunch of kids just goofing off and we have a big problem at my school with kids actually participating in clubs and activities other than sports. I really want to do this though because in the last year alone I know of at least 5 students to come out as bi or gay and 1 person is openly trans soon to be 2. I am tired of my schools lame attempts to spread support and acceptance through unity day and all of those things I mean wearing a specific color one day is often viewed as a joke at school and all I have seen that is specifically supporting diversity in school is like 2 posters on the wall. My school is really small so I'm not expecting to get a ton of people involved but I want some people to be and I am worried about people thinking it is only for LGBTQ+