1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aspergers and Gay?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by mrd1015, Jan 15, 2017.

1. mrd1015

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Family only
    Hello everyone. I just came out as gay a few weeks ago. It's been kind of a whirlwind journey for me recently. My parents handled my coming out well, but they seemed surprised I actually knew what it meant. To be honest, all I really know about me being gay is that I'm exclusively attracted to other guys.

I also have Aspergers Syndrome. My parents have really sheltered me, and because of this, I do not know anything about what it means to be gay, the wider GLBT community, or relationships. I was wondering if anyone knew of any resources for someone who is gay, and on the Spectrum?

I'm not very good at being social, and I'm afraid if I trust the wrong kind of person, or resource that I will be taken advantage of. I am looking to avoid that. Does anyone have any kind of suggestions for books, organizations, or other resources I could connect with in a safe manner?

I'm a part time college student, and I have already made contact with my university's GLBT group. I hope this was a good first step on my part, I'm not sure what else there is out there though. Any friendly suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

2. Kodo

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I also have Aspergers and am a queer guy.

I think you made the right choice in seeking out an LGBT friendly college group. Other resources would include, but are not limited to:

-A therapist to help you sort through your feelings in this and develop healthy coping mechanisms.