1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Self-conscious about being gay

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by daughtry, Jan 22, 2017.

1. daughtry

daughtry Guest

I spend a lot of time with my parents, who were homophobic before I came out to them last year. They are now supportive of me being gay. However, I still have a lot of internalized homophobia because of my parents and a lot of homophobic friends that I had before coming out.

Creative writing has been a hobby of mine for a long time. I want to write fanfiction based on my favorite TV show and include a gay guy as the main character. He might have a romantic relationship with another guy in the story. But I have never written a gay character before because I used to think it was immoral. When I mention to my parents that I'm writing a new story, they usually express an interest in reading it. But...I would feel super awkward about them reading my gay fanfiction lol. Unfortunately they have a history of occasionally finding and reading other stories I've written without asking me first. Plus, my Mom will sometimes tell people about various stories that I've written without okaying it with me first, and I'm worried that I'll be forced to talk about my gay fanfiction to other people.

One solution is to just write the fanfiction without telling my parents about it and hope they don't stumble on it if they're using my computer. But I don't like hiding things from them. So yeah...I know this sounds petty, but I could really use some advice. Thoughts?

2. Guff

If your parents are truly supportive now, than why would they really care if your lead was gay? I mean knowing you are, it's not like they're gonna read it and be left wondering "Now why would he do that?". I think they'd kinda understand why you chose to write about a character that is like you in some ways.