1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Job Advice Needed

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Mrcake, Jan 27, 2017.

1. Mrcake

Hello all, I have been working full time at my job for 7 months and I make $11 an hour. I currently do not make enough to move out. I graduated from college and should be making ~$18 an hour with my degree but have had a hard time finding employment in my field
    of study. An opportunity to be a manager at work came up which is $14/hr. Should
    I pursue this or keep looking for a job in my field? Thanks

2. Anthemic

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Some people
    It depends on the type of job. Considering it's a management position that only pays $14/hour, I assume that means it's either in retail or a restaurant. If that's true, then I would continue looking for a job in your field. The reason is because, management in retail/restaurant work is very demanding, and honestly, not worth just 14/hour. I work in a mail room and I get paid $12.36/hour. Even that amount is barely enough for me to move out, and all I do is sit most of the time.

3. Mrcake

Yep it's retail.

4. Anthemic

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Some people
    In my opinion, it's not worth it, unless it's for an assistant manager position doing lax work. Examples of lax work: employee scheduling, handling money, writing up damages. It really just depends on if you think it's worth it.

5. Mrcake