1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How/When did you become 100% comfortable with your sexuality?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Nanodae, Feb 2, 2017.

1. Nanodae

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    I've now accepted myself as a lesbian and it feels very good to no longer be confused about who I am.

I'm out to most of my work colleagues as it's come up in conversation and I am out to those who ask me the question.

I am new to working at the hospital and I was in the staff room with a male nurse and a female nurse the other day - both openly gay and they were talking of the sad times their family found out and shut them out of their lives.

They asked me if I'm with anyone, to which I said 'No, I always fall for the wrong people.. but I like someone at work though.' and the female nurse was using male pronouns asking about what he is like. I felt awkward and I didn't have it in me to correct her so I kept using 'they' and 'them' to describe her. They didn't suspect anything.

I do wonder why I didn't just correct her, it wasn't as though I had to fear both of them being homophobic as they were both openly gay.
    It makes me feel I am not as accepting of myself as I'd like to think. I mean if they had asked me directly if I was gay, or if it was a woman I liked - I would have said yes, but to actually correct them myself.. that would take a lot in me to do.

Are any of you at the stage where you could simply correct someone's assumption of your sexuality, or is it something that you are still going through?

2. Loveislife

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian