1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I don't feel creative

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Jon99, Feb 17, 2017.

1. Jon99

And it's killing me, I want to write a short story, and I've developed a recent interest in painting/drawing, but every time I get to typing, something inside my mind discourages me saying things like "You'll never be good at this" or "You're painting and drawing skills will always suck". I also feel jealousy to creative artists/animators I see on YouTube, I mean I like them and all, it's just that I see them do their thing, I think to myself "Why can't I express my creativity like these guys?". It's like my mind is a gutter full of vapid thoughts, I don't know what to do honestly.

2. IceCream

Gender Pronoun:
    Other
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I'm a writer myself, and I totally get what you mean about having negative thoughts. I know it's easier said than done, but you've just got to push past them and keep going. Have you heard this quote by Ira Glass? It really helped me when I was down about my writing skills, and you can apply it to art too: