1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Grad school + low gpa

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by FuelsMySong, Mar 7, 2017.

1. FuelsMySong

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    I am thinking of getting a master's in either social work, counselling, or counselling psychology. However, my gpa is not that stellar. i used to have a 3.67 gpa in my first year but after getting some grades in the C range, my gpa dropped down to 2.83 in my third year. I am currently in my fourth year of my BA in psychology. three main reasons i want a graduate degree is 1)i'm afraid a BA with little experience won't get me a job 2)i'm thinking of going into counselling which requires a master's 3)most grad schools have practicum programs and i want the experience (my undergrad had a co-op program which is kind of like a practicum but that was different because you have to apply for jobs and i couldn't get any jobs). I have seen some jobs that require only bachelor's degrees like case manager, community support worker, and program worker. So those are some of my options in lieu of grad school. Some of the jobs require a driver's license which I don't have but am definitely willing to get. anyway, i am about 2 semesters away from graduating and at this rate, i will probably graduate with a 2.83 or perhaps even lower because I just can't seem to get my grades up. in my resume, i have that I worked as a writer/researcher for a disability rights blog from my university and that i volunteer with children. I'm not too sure if i have anybody willing to be my reference. so that's pretty much the whole picture. is there any chance I can get into grad school? Should I even waste my time applying to grad school or should I just apply to jobs requiring only a bachelor's and hope for the best?

2. YeahpIdk

A few things come to mind: