1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Strangers on social media

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Danona, Mar 19, 2017.

1. Danona

Hi all. I'm new. Female, early 30s, out for 10+ years, been hopelessly single for four.

When I was in college I felt rejected by the lesbian community. I'd often read their livejournals and live vicariously, pretending that I was confident in my sexual orientation and had a community that felt supportive and positive.

When I graduated college I came back home. I used myspace to find local lesbians, and in my hometown and the immediate areas there weren't many. At first I would check their myspace pages to try and get ideas of gay events in the area, but then I just started clicking around and I'd spend hours just looking at these total strangers' profiles. I guess wishing that I had their lives.

I can understand all of that amd even forgive its creepiness, since I was just a young gay person feeling isolated and sad.

What I can't get past is the fact that I still do it, 10 years later, on Facebook.