1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

would working in a charity shop help my current job?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by sunnii, Mar 13, 2013.

1. sunnii

I work at a supermarket and am contracted to about 23 hours but I don't do anything else like another job or uni or anything. Usually I get overtime (normally ill get like a 7 hour shift instead of four) but after last Xmas the store as a whole has quietened down. I'm just working my contract hours and my 5pm-9pm shifts are dire with almost all the work completed before I come in and even though there is always something I could do ie cleaning, helping others out it does demoralise, demotivate and make you lazy. Whenever I do get offered overtime its crap shifts.

I can get frustrated with my job because I feel like I'm not good at it but I try and I help out a lot ie overtime but I don't get appreciated. A lot of times on my shifts during the weekends I'm left with a lot to do and I'm left alone to do it. And when I actually do get it all done no one saw it so it never happened. But that can happen with any job so I digress.

My point is I want to improve but because of this tougher time its harder yo get an opportuinity (for the record I'm very grateful to have my job etc) and I need something more in my life since I don't study or have a 2nd job. I thought about volunteering at a charity shop. I did it a couple of years ago to get work experience and I really enjoyed it. Do you think it would teach me more about the retail industry? Could it make me better at my other job? I know a charity shop is much different to a supermarket and I'm only a "mere worker" but still Tbh probs be a good idea anyway if I could work a day I start ay 5 as it would give ne something to do instead of hanging about till 5

2. Hard Candy

Hard Candy Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning