1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can the admin of our home network see that I visit this website regularly?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by evora, Apr 6, 2013.

1. evora

This might be a very stupid question but...
    Can the admin of our home network, my brother, see that I (specifically) or someone visits this website regularly? It's set to public network at the moment but only the four of us uses it. Please, could anyone who knows this stuff let me know if it's possible or not?

2. falsereading

falsereading Guest

Possibly, depends on how knowledgeable they are. Easiest method is just going through your history on the same computer.

3. theMaverick

I'm by no means a computer expert, but I never thought that someone could see what you were doing unless they used the same computer as you and you didn't clear history.

4. Stridenttube

Stridenttube Guest

Some routers record the IP address of websites visited. But I wouldn't worry about it.

5. rg93

I could imagine that it shows the IP address on the router settings site, but someone would actually have to first, know what they're doing and second actually go out of their way to check the website that you are/were on, however I don't think it would just "be noticed", but it really depends on if the settings website shows it. It doesn't on ours.

6. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Depends on how sophisticated the home network is. As Stridenttube said, if the router logs traffic, or if there's a caching server, then one could tell by looking at the logs. But I wouldn't stress it.

7. evora

Oh, god...:bang:
    Now I'll just have to find a way to subtly ask my brother how our router works and if he can see the websites we visit. Any ideas?