1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Obsessing and pessimistic about attending college.

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Stridenttube, Apr 7, 2013.

1. Stridenttube

Stridenttube Guest

Hello everybody, I started this thread in hopes of receiving some insight about this. I've set a goal for myself to start college shortly after I turn 21 (pathetic goal, I know) For the last month I've been completely obsessing about this. It's getting to the point where it's consuming my life and sucking away all of my happiness. I didn't take any AP courses while I was attending high school. Even worse, I didn't do too hot in the classes I did take. I graduated towards the lower end of my graduating class. I failed algebra II on more than one occasion because I have a problem with day dreaming during class. Not to mention I didn't do my homework.

I'm stressing because I don't believe I will be able to handle the work in college. I'm not a grammar god, and I'm not great with math or memorization. I have a friend who told me that it's not much different than high school, especially because I went to one of the more rigorous schools in the state, and the university I'll be attending accepts pretty much anyone with a pulse. My question is this: is college as difficult as everyone makes it out to be? Or am I overreacting, and it's actually not much worse than high school. I haven't slept in the last three days because this is stressing me out so much, so any input would be great.

2. AKTodd

I found it significantly more difficult than HS because I had to learn how to study, not just rely on having a really good memory. That said, I also went in as an engineering major and discovered that higher math and I just don't mix. I could memorize and use formulas but not as a general case.

Once I switched majors to English things got much easier as I like to read and write pretty well.