1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Uncertain of my potential

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by funnygrump, May 1, 2013.

1. funnygrump

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I have been at a community college for nearly two years and I am preparing to transfer to a new college for the upcoming fall semester. I have decided what my major is which would be English and I plan on getting a teaching credential so I could become a high school teacher.

I would like to think that I am a good writer, reader, and anything else that has to do with English but I am self conscious about the work I produce which makes me feel as if I am not good enough to become a teacher or major in English. I have friends and classmates who aren't even English majors that produced better work than me which makes me feel as if my work is mediocre. I understand that practice and hard-work will help me improve but at this point I feel too discouraged to do anything.

I received an A for my college English 1A course which felt reassuring and after having talked to my professor he told me I was one of the few people who did received an A and yet I still doubt my potential.

I have no clue what is wrong with me.. I guess I am used to always self loathing. What is wrong with me?

2. Ettina

Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    That's your answer.

I can relate to not being able to judge how good your writing is. I tend to vacillate between thinking I'm an awesome writer and thinking I suck at writing, based more on my mood than the actual quality of the stuff I write.

3. Argentwing

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    By whose opinion is their work better than yours? Because if it's your own opinion and you think you struggle with self-loathing, it might not be terribly accurate.