1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My dad doesn't know a single thing about me

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by lazyfire, May 1, 2013.

1. lazyfire

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I've always been frustrated with my dad. Sure, he may seem touchy and loves to hug/kiss me (randomly). To be perfectly honest, I don't think that shows 'love' at all.

It shows a physical attraction. *After thinking about it* -shudders-

He doesn't understand me and doesn't even pay attention to a thing I do.
    He thought I was two years younger than I actually was. He claims I'm not good at a single thing when he doesn't even 'notice' me.

I'm his son but he treats me like I don't exist?! And, the number one thing I hate is when he compares me to other people and says I'm generally worse than the rest of them when he doesn't know a single thing about me.

When we sit in a car together, we don't talk at all. He usually asks random questions to break the silence. I want to talk to him more since he is my dad but I don't think we'd get along.

He'd ask questions like:
    "How's school?"
    "Are you tried?"
    "How was your day"

It's quite annoying when I know he doesn't have anything else to say. He doesn't even 'try'. He just doesn't want the silence.

He's irritating me. Anyone have a clue as to what to do?

#1 lazyfire, May 1, 2013
    Last edited: May 1, 2013
  2. Parsley

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I'm sorry that you feel like your father is comparing you to others. That isn't fair. Have you asked him to stop?