1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Going to gay bar for first time tomorrow

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Ptolemy, Jun 13, 2013.

1. Ptolemy

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I am going to a gay bar as part of a Meetup group tomorrow. I'm going with a couple of guys I know, but I am a bit nervous since it is my first time at a gay bar. I must admit I still feel like a bit of a foreigner in the gay community. Part of me thinks what have I gotten myself into, while another part is like hell ya I'm going! If any of you have some advice it would be greatly appreciated.

2. Frumpy Pigskin

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
  3. MrBrightside

Think of it this way, its a bar like any other. You get the same drinks, probably broadly the same music. EXCEPT most of the guys there are gay too, so no worries about making moves on straight guys or homophobia!

Im sure u will have great fun, and its good your friends will join you, make it all the easier! :slight_smile:

4. Amerigo

^ ahahahahahahaha! :slight_smile:

:beer:

Enjoy yourself, Ptolemy, and relax!

5. SomeNights

Just relax and have fun. Only difference between a gay club and a straight club is at the gay club they know how to dance :wink:

6. TimTomC

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Make sure no one slips shit in your drink dude.

7. greatwhale

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Focus on the "hell yah, I'm going!" and you'll be fine!

8. AKTodd

If someone hits on you and you're not interested, be nice about saying 'no'. Don't freak out about the fact they have hit on you and possibly thank them for the compliment while saying 'no' (assuming you're not interested, of course). That's just good manners. If they get obnoxious about it, then you're free to reevaluate this approach of course.