1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Well. I'm doing it.

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by KhanSaheb, Jul 27, 2013.

1. KhanSaheb

I've posted some of my past history in other threads. In a nutshell: My partner died several years ago and I've distanced myself from most of our friends. I've become almost a hermit and only socialize with heterosexual friends. I have surrounded myself with a wall that makes it nearly impossible for anyone to meet me or try to become romantically involved. I have been alone (and haven't had sex) in over 7 years.

So...

I've joined a gay men's social club and today is the first event I'm attending. I'm not good with strangers, so I've been really gearing myself up for this. I have to NOT stick myself in the kitchen (the originators of the group are hosting at their house). And I have to do everything in my power not to be a wallflower. I keep telling myself that this is a safe event to meet people. Nobody is looking for anything other than a social outlet. Breathe, damn it!

Wish me luck.

2. Tightrope

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Go for it. It sounds safe enough and it will probably be fun. The fact that nobody is looking for anything makes it a good place to start.

3. Dublin Boy

Dublin Boy Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    :goodluck: I hope it goes well & opens up other avenues of social events for you, sorry about your loss of you partner, I know the death of a loved one takes a long time to come to terms with (*hug*)(*hug*)(*hug*)

4. PeteNJ

What a brave step! Proud of you. Take a deep breath and go for it!

5. Mirko

Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone