1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Outed in workplace by colleague

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by jupiter2, Aug 8, 2013.

1. jupiter2

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    My first post here

The background is that I'm a nurse in a large hospital, in a high pressure unit. Good at my job, (just had my evaluation), have good working relationships with medical & nursing staff; I'm not self-aggrandizing, just setting the scene.

But I have a problem with my immediate superior, a charge nurse. (I work as one too half the time). For the most part we've gotten along really well. We hit it off when he started work here, he's the same age as me, mid forties. He's good at his job.

We were supportive of each other, and genuinely warm towards me. We swapped personal stories as friends do, laughed together. I wasn't pushy in friendship, gave him lots of space. It was just easy going. I developed a really strong affection for him and in spite of myself a strong physical attraction; he somehow figured out early how I felt about him, and he really was OK with it. Nothing to suggest otherwise. Given many hints to me that he knew, and even seemed to enjoy it. I was very discreet, kept it all professional at work, never let it interfere with the job or bring cause for comment. He's not homophobic- in fact he's mentioned several times in my earshot he doesn't believe in strict either/or descriptions of human sexuality. Has a LTR -hetero, of long standing.