1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should I come out to my wife and kids?

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Spaceman, Sep 8, 2013.

1. Spaceman

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to EC and so glad I found this place. Just reading the experiences of others who are struggling or have struggled with coming out "later in life" has been a great comfort. So, here's my story…

I'm in my mid 40s and married with 2 elementary school age kids. About 2 months ago, I came out to myself for the first time. So far, the only person I've told is my therapist. I consider my wife a wonderful woman and my best friend and I have never been unfaithful to her. In fact, I've never had any sort of gay relationship at all, even before meeting my wife. I knew I was attracted to men since I was young, but I also knew I wanted a "normal" life and I was able to stay firmly in the closet until recently.

Now I'm at a point where living the lie is sucking the life out of me. I'm under a constant cloud of depression and self-loathing because I can't be the real me. It's also putting a growing strain on my marriage as we grow more and more like roommates instead of spouses. Our sex life has dwindled to about once every 3 months. Oddly, I'm still the one initiating sex, probably to fool myself into feeling "normal". I think she's losing interest in sex because she can sense there's something off with our physical relationship. She and I have never talked about whether I'm gay, but I think part of her has to suspect after all these years together.

My gut tells me coming out to her is the right thing to do, but I'm struggling with the questions known so well by those of us in this unfortunate situation…

--I created this mess, so shouldn't I just suck it up and stay in the closet to avoid turning my wife's world upside down?

--If I do come out, what if I end up alone and guilt-ridden and more miserable than I am now?