1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

24 years old and terrified of ageing

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Paddy89, Sep 17, 2013.

1. Paddy89

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hi,

My name's Paddy and I've just recently turned 24. This has brought to a near crisis point an already latent anxiety: aging. I'm terrified of it.

I came out pretty late (aged 20) and wasn't seriously looking for a relationship until I graduated from my undergraduate program. As a result, I didn't have any boyfriends as a teenager or in my early twenties. I was in a relationship for about nine months when dong my master's, but it didn't work out.

I'm now 'on the market' again, as it were, and I'm finding it a real blow to my confidence. I can't seem to attract guys my own age (the great majority of whom seem to already be in relationships or else not to want one), and when I go to gay bars, I feel like I'm the old creep in the corner (it's a university town). I've tried flirting with, and asking out, other guys, but most of the people I've been attracted to me have been younger (18-21, say, undergraduates). They've all declined. I'm sure my age was a factor.

I'm not exclusively attracted to younger guys (in fact my previous ex-boyfriend and all of my previous sexual partners have been a bit older than me), and I would love to find somebody my own age, but I find this dispiriting.

In the meantime, the ONLY people who have shown real obvious attraction to me have been considerably older (as in late forties plus). All very nice guys, but I'm pretty sure that many of them only fancied me as a generic 'youth'.