1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Next step to becoming a member of the gay community

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by SaleGayGuy, Oct 21, 2013.

1. SaleGayGuy

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hi All

After coming out to my understanding wife 6 months ago I have taken the next step to becoming a responsible guy in the gay community … A visit to my local sexual health clinic to enrol on a gay guys screening program.

I had been putting off this step for several months now partly because have not felt ready to go out and have fun with guys yet and I have been using this as a stalling ploy, partly because I feared a judgemental attitude from the health clinic, and partly because of those stories of an umbrella!!! But I could not justify putting this important step off any longer so off I went.

On arrival at the clinic I was obviously the oldest person in the waiting area which contained both men and women for a common clinic; there was no separate clinic for gay folks. I felt slightly out of place until I noticed a young teenage boy who had been brought there by his mother, I felt sorry for him because he had a look of embarrassment because he had to be accompanied by his mum combined with misguided pride because he was old enough to be doing things to give him some STD.