1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Being a Mentor, etc...

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Biotech49, Nov 2, 2013.

1. Biotech49

When I was a teacher I was appointed to newer teachers to be a mentor to them. I did this for three years before I quit teaching. I enjoyed teaching but the rest of the crap that came with it was unbearable.

I have a friend who has just come out and I am "mentoring" her now. It's great to be a teacher again. LOL

GF status has improved. I think she is suffering from depression. I know exactly where she is mentally and we are cool.

My dad has decided not to do chemo and the oncologist says as soon as a month or up to five. The tumor is aggressive and has metasticized. My five brothers and I have begun ideas for a eulogy. We were laughing so hard this morning (over FB messaging of course).

2. Dragonbait

Dragonbait Guest

So glad to hear that you are laughing Bio! Laughter is the second greatest validation of life!
    :wink:

3. geode

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I'm glad to hear about your girlfriend. Is she getting treatment? I'm sorry to hear about your dad's prognosis. It's good that you and your brothers are working on a eulogy and including humor. My mom died when I was 24, and my brother and I tried to have input into what the preacher at her dad's rural Baptist church would say during the service. Unfortunately, he ignored what we told him and instead said that he was sure she would have come to have a relationship with Jesus if she'd lived. Umm, no, she wouldn't have...

4. Biotech49

My dad is agnostic and he is going to be cremated. I don't even think we are going to have a preacher so it may be just relatives speaking at his memorial service. We haven't looked into it yet. He would want humor!