1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Parents, the worst part of being a teacher.

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by ClicheKHFan, Nov 12, 2013.

1. ClicheKHFan

So, there are a lot of parents that don't want someone who is gay/bisexual teaching their kids. I want to be a high school language arts teacher. I'm wondering if it would be hard to find an accepting school, or if I might have to keep my private life private.

2. Biotech49

I used to be a teacher. However, I was not out at the time so nobody knew. Go for it anyway!

I would want to teach in a larger city though. My very small town experience was NOT good.

3. ClosetedFather

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I can't speak to this specifically but I believe it depends largely upon what state you would like to teach in. State that have anti discrimination laws can't fire you so your good. Others are a crap shoot I suppose. I dated a man that was private about his life when he was an assistant principle in Virginia. He is now married to his partner and working in New York (upstate) as an substitute administrator of a school and his husband is a principle there as well. There are plenty of gay teachers out there but I think many don't mention it. Do some research as to where you want to teach.

4. Rose27

Rose27 Guest

I think its a great career choice! Go for it! Don't let fear keep you from your dreams!

5. BiPenguin

Go teach. Go lead. :slight_smile:

6. Biotech49

There was, however, a rumor going around about me and a fifth grade woman teacher being lovers. How I wish that had been true!

7. Rose27

Rose27 Guest

Was it a gym teacher?

8. Silver Sparrow

A larger or more liberal city is more likely to be accepting, but there will sadly be homophobes wherever you go...

9. EscapeArtist