1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Surprised by gay married numbers

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by skiff, Jan 6, 2014.

1. skiff

skiff Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hi,

I am surprised. No, I am shocked.

I am gay and was married. I thought I was unique or rare. So I started talking to high school classmates 1976 who I graduated with.

The numbers of "gay married" blow the statistics out of the water and that does not include the one who became a priest.

We had ZERO openly gay (it was the 70's) but in hindsight large numbers are now coming out with the changes in society.

Incredible!!! CRIPES I should go to a class reunion just to find a date.

Tom

2. Tightrope

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Given that people in their late 20s and early 30s on here are reporting "gay or lesbian AND married - now what?" then this also prevailed in high schools in the 80s, 90s, and post 2000. There will always be people who are out later than their high school years, especially with high school students just learning about themselves, questioning, and some not even having completed puberty. Those who become clergy members and then come out later - well, that seems to happen quite a bit. That's another thread.

3. Lindsey23

I used to feel very alone before finding this site. I thought my situation was rare as well. I wonder what our real numbers are...with all the progress in Western cultures maybe the closet will cease to exist. Maybe kids will be reading history books and ask, "What does being in the closet mean?"

4. Choirboy

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone