1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Chasing "Straight" Girls/ Guys, Thoughts?

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by eburian, Mar 8, 2014.

1. eburian

I feeling really sad mainly because I've let this happen to me twice- the first though was kind of a "relationship"

I was wondering if you can tell me stories about your experience with this and how you dealt with it in the end. I guess I'm kind of looking for advice just in case I ever run into this a third time (knocks on wood) and will know how to deal with it.

:icon_sad:

2. YaraNunchuck

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I'm not that experienced with this stuff, and I write from a male perspective. Having said that, I've had an interesting turnaround when it comes to crushes on guys. Although for the past few years I've had some close guy friends, I experienced a significant falling off in really close buddy-type relationships in my teens (probably related to my sexuality etc.) which I ignored at the time but which kind of negatively affected me. And so despite gaining quite a few friendships over the years with different sorts of people, I found I always had this insatiable urge to befriend really 'cool' guys with great interests. I really wanted the kind of really close blokey friendship other people had, so developed bromance-type desires really quickly, which never really worked out. These weren't crushes exactly - these guys were often physically unattractive. This lasted even through my coming out in the last few years. Nowadays, though, as I've been out for a while, I've developed proper crushes on gay guys which seems to have extinguished or absorbed my desire for a straight bromance completely. Nowadays I don't even think I could be in a relationship with a straight guy; I sense that the psychology of the straight guy might somehow not be compatible with mine. This renders any crush purely