1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Taking the plunge!

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Kreativ, Jun 13, 2014.

1. Kreativ

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hello y'all:
    I am not straight. I know that now. OK, lol, breathe.
    Don't know if I'm gay or bi. I do suspect, once I become more active in the LGBT universe, I'll prob will discover I'm gay. We'll see. Right now, I'm just coming out to myself, and it is frightening and GREAT!
    I'm a 51 y/o man. I'm a single dad to a teenager. I became a Buddhist in 2009. Degree in Art- painter. My day job is a case manager for the developmentally disabled.
    I'm not sure what to do next..There is a gay bar in town, but I'm not into bar scenes, straight or gay. There aren't a lot of other choices to meet men in my area, except for the internet. And my preference is get to know people slowly, esp. a potential lover/partner. And I like doing so face-to-face.
    Its a little embarrassing to be going through all these baby steps, again, at my age. Dating, learning the 'rules,' etc.
    And to be really honest, the sex, as much as I want it, scares me, too. Another set of skills to learn, another opportunity to embarrass myself with my lack of homoerotic experience.
    I guess what I'd really love is to meet a bunch of you lovely people IRL, esp. with other newbies in the mix, get to know one another, get brave, hold our noses and jump in to the deep end of the pool.
    One last point- its all not just about fear. There are things about being gay/bi/queer that I'm excited about. The freedom, the honesty, and the beauty of it.
    Well, lol, that's enough bravery for one night. Thank you to any who read my post.
    I wish you the best!
    Kreativ

2. Sig

Sig

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hiya Kreativ,