1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stonewalled

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by bethd77, Jun 30, 2014.

1. bethd77

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    I was with my partner for 14 years...We'd moved to a large city for the 1st time in our relationship. She became very active in two 12 step programs and she had a wonderful job for the 1st time in her career. I tried very hard to support her and tried being involved in her programs.

About a year ago, I lost my job. I could no longer do the work I'd been doing for the past 10 years, because it has taken a toll on my body. I had other marketable skills, so I started applying for jobs.... I had interviews, but no bites. It was a very sore point of contention between us... She knew what I did for a living when we met and she knew my educational background...

At any rate, she came home one day and said it was time to end the relationship, that we'd grown apart (between her programs, her yoga and yoga retreats and her personal trainer, she was never home!)I reacted badly and took a bunch of pills....I couldn't see being able to start all over again at 60...:icon_sad: I ended up in an inpatient detox ward for six days...I got alot of good from it.

When I got out, I found out that she didn't intend to let me back into our apartment ( even though my name was on the lease) and she refused to have contact with me. She still has most of my belongings and she continues to refuse contact with me. I ended up having to move 5 hours away....no money, no job, nobody I knew or no place I knew. It's been since the 22nd of May since she's spoken to me.

She says If I want my things I have to sign a piece of paper taking myself off the lease and then I can have them. I can't just roll over and I can't believe that after 14 years, this is all that's in her heart...My heart is broken and I feel like a fool...I'm just numb... thanks for listening.