1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Not even sure where to begin...

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Brian Anxious, Aug 30, 2014.

1. Brian Anxious

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Hi there.

Total newbie here and rather nervous about posting even in total anonymity.

I'm a male in my early 40s, married (to a woman) and we have a 5 year old daughter together.

I've always considered myself straight(ish) even though there have been a couple of guys earlier in my life (both straight) whom I found myself quite attracted to emotionally (in more than a platonic way.)

Last year we moved to a new city and I arrived a few weeks earlier than my wife and child. At the time I didn't have a job but found myself inexplicably drawn to a position working for an organization promoting LGBT rights which I took. I told myself at the time that I took this job because I believed in the cause (which I do) but the reality is that I wanted to be around gay men as I was starting to question my sexual orientation (for reasons I won't expand on right now.) Within a couple of days I found I had developed a huge crush on one of my male co-workers. It took me totally by surprise and I started to feel very confused... as you can imagine. I didn't say anything to the guy in question but found myself more and more just wanting to be around him and fantasized about getting intimate with him.

Anyway... almost a year later I'm still unable to get this guy out of my head. It's driving me nuts! We don't work together any more and I haven't seen him in a couple of months. Two nights ago I had a pretty erotic dream about him and woke up sweating. Ha ha ha!!

The whole thing has got me pretty shaken up. I'm not desperately unhappy in my life and would never act on my feelings because I genuinely love my daughter and care deeply for my wife's feelings.