1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thirty and... proud.

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Polka Dots, Sep 26, 2014.

1. Polka Dots

Hello all. I’ve been lurking this site for the past eight months and figured it was high time I create an account to help celebrate Bi Visibility Week. I apologize for the length of this post and appreciate anyone willing to read through it in its entirety.

My name is Polka Dots – as you can see – but feel free to call me “Dots” for short. I am a soon-to-be thirty-year-old author by trade who is in the process of coming out to my loved ones as bisexual (unless I am speaking to someone within the LGBT community, in which case I opt for pansexual). I’m in a monogamous marriage and as such have been told there’s no “reason” for me to come out, but I am sick of having to hide this beautiful part of my heart that I’ve kept under wraps for thirty-years too long.

I live in a city that the KKK called “home” for decades, so as you can probably guess, there's tons of homophobia here. I have known since I was a child (about nine or so) that I was programmed differently from my peers, but that was before the internet and I had no means to communicate with others like myself. My gender identity still causes me confusion; I have long suffered from social/emotional dysphoria but am comfortable in the body I was born with (female). In my youth, I told my mother I did not feel like a girl but she dismissed my thoughts, claiming that was “silly” to think because “I look so cute in a dress” and “all the boys love me.”

Well, we can see how ignorant a statement that was, but my mom – may she rest in peace – never met an open homosexual or transsexual in her life.