1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Inexperience and indecision

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Alexander87, Nov 30, 2014.

1. Alexander87

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Hi everyone!

I'm having a real hard time understanding how to behave with regard to my sexuality: I am 27 and I have had no sexual experience yet. I think I am bisexual because at times I feel attracted to men as well as to girls, but I'm so inexperienced I can't tell clearly.

I am feeling a very strong attraction to a friend I've met in the last year, who surely likes girls (as I do) but he doesn't really talk about his sexuality (I've made a couple of sexual-themed jokes with him, but it all ended there.)

My problem is: this friend is really very important to me because he is the only one I consider a friend in the foreign country where I'm studying. I am very emotionally attached to him, never mind my attraction. I don't want to do anything idiotic that might scare him away, but I want to (sort of) test him and see how far I can go. Especially beause I'm not certain about myself, either.

Any suggestions or at least external points of view? I was thinking to first talk about our sexual orientation, but how can I do it and make it sound "casual conversation"?
    (It also feels a bit like "coming out" since nobody else knows about it, and it surely is about uncertainty, so I should post this in three different areas, but the main issue is that I don't know how to behave because I'm "too old".)

2. OnTheHighway

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    First, your not "too old", you got your whole life ahead of you.

From the sounds of it, you seem open to the idea of coming out to him in a casual way, and if he reciprocates, you would like something more, but do not want to risk the friendship.