1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice on how to respond to my adult kids

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by SWburbchgo, Jan 14, 2015.

1. SWburbchgo

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Okay EC'ers I could use your help and council on this one as I am not very good with my words and everything I have said since I came out to my wife last Sat apparently has been wrong.
    My adult sons (24 and 21) who love me and were completely blindsided by my call to them on Sunday, which my wife insisted I do that day, wrote me a letter which frankly makes me cry every time I read it. It is supportive but in it they ask me the following:

"What council did you seek for this advice about how to handle this situation? And in what state of mind have you been during this time of need? Is your handling of the situation related to your vulnerability? And were you perhaps taken advantage of by someone who seemed trustworthy, compassionate, and accepting? So much so that you made such a dramatic turn against your family overnight?"

"Yes, I said against your family. There is not a number of “blog posts” that exists to convince me that you handled this situation fairly for anyone. You up and left your wife with no one to help fend for her. She is completely on her own in a state of loss and grief without expectation for the future of herself, her kids, and what’s left of her family. As for your kids, well we received our due phone call I suppose. And yourself? What of your friends? Your home? Your neighbors? The other half of your family? Who takes care of you when you’re sick? What are we to do for the holidays? What happens when my brother and I come home? One thing is for certain; running and hiding with your “friend” and/or looking for an apartment while leaving everyone else around you to pick up the pieces is not the way to handle this situation."