1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

starting a family

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by soag, Jan 19, 2015.

1. soag

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Hey everyone. I'm new here and one of the main reasons I started looking into this forum is because I'm about to do something hard. I've crossed some major bridges already in my life. I came to terms with my sexuality, I came out to my family and my friends, I found a great girl to settle down with...but the next step seems the scariest of all. I've wanted kids my whole life. I work at preschools whenever I have time, I visit my nephew every chance I get, I have just always loved kids and always known they would be a part of my life. My girlfriend and I decided on having 2-3 when we're ready, and I think the time is coming finally. I finished my degree in May, she'll be done this May. Once we're settled with jobs we're going to start trying. But now that we are actually talking about it, it's becoming a reality and there are a million things to consider. I don't know what type of procedure to do, whose sperm to use, if we'll need fertility medicine... the only thing we do know is she's going to carry the baby. I just wish it was as easy as having sex and having it just happen. Has anyone gone through this and have any pointers to get us started at least thinking about the steps we'll need to take?

And anyone who is raising / has raised kids who has any insight on being gay parents. When did your kids realize their parents were different? Did it affect them much in school or with friends?

Thanks for any help/advice :icon_bigg

2. greatwhale

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    A good start for you with regard to understanding the issues around being gay parents is Colage. It is from the child's perspective, but this is what is most important.