1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

met somebody but he is HIV+...

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by skiff, Mar 24, 2015.

1. skiff

skiff Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hi,

Spent a lifetime avoiding HIV and unsure of dating a HIV+ guy I met. He is open about it but I am unsure I can wrap head around it.

He appears to be a decent guy in all regards and I do not want to discriminate on this alone...

Thoughts...? I have no experience with this and realize broader input is necessary.

Thanks

2. PatrickUK

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I give him huge credit for being honest and telling you about it from the outset. He could have shied away from the subject and dropped a bombshell weeks or months down the line, but he has chosen to tell you now and that is a big deal. On this measure alone, he is a decent guy.

Can fully understand your reservations, but it is definitely possible to have a great relationship with someone who is HIV+, providing you are both sensible. If I were single I would be happy to date someone who is HIV+. I'd obviously prefer them to be negative, but it would never be a deal breaker for me.

You might find this information useful. It's from a UK website, but the information is totally reliable (Terrence Higgins Trust is a respected HIV/Aids charity): When your partner is HIV negative | Terrence Higgins Trust

3. Foz

Foz Guest

Since he's been open with you, I wouldn't quite close the door on him yet. I'd ask him about his treatment etc. as people treated successfully can have such a low level of the virus it's undetectable (it's still there, once you've had confirmation of HIV it's with you forever), so should the worst happen and the condom breaks there's a very low risk of it being passed onto you. But that does depend on his treatment and bloods.

4. skiff

skiff Guest