1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Self-sabotaging!

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by dutchwaffles, Apr 15, 2015.

1. dutchwaffles

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    OK. I think I mentally put boundaries for myself to complicate any possible relationship with a guy.

From one side, I convince myself that I should find a partner from a natural encounter, not from an online app or in a gay bar. From the other side, I also try to convince myself that my priority is the friendship because I am new in this town and relationship might come later. In other words, I logically try to create a supportive surrounding with friends so that I would not feel lonely. However, I also internally know that there is a high chance that I can have feelings to straight guys whom I categorize as friends, because this is the story of my life!

So, I met with this guy during one of the meetups. Even from this only moment, I felt a connection with him. It is hard to describe, but I can say that it was a kind of instinct that I considered him like me. We exchanged our phone numbers, and have met for once last week for a dinner.

Since that dinner, text messaging became the general means for our communication. The other thing is he is very religious and dedicatedly serves within a church community. During that time, I was telling to myself that it is still a friendship, and better that way in order to not have any drama, but to enjoy life and spend quality time with. Until I, as usual, was friend-zoned, or "the phrase of the friendship" was somehow underlined by this person. Even though I have cognitively tried to prepare myself, I still felt sad.