1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

60 and coming out

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by thegatekeeper, Apr 23, 2015.

1. thegatekeeper

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Family only
    Hi all,

Newbie here!

My Story in a nutshell:

I'm 60, married three times, I'm a retired disabled Army Vet , 1 daughter

from my first marriage (31yrs. old. now).

All my life up to about 1 year ago identified myself as Bisexual.

Two years ago I went through male menopause. So sex or even the thought

of sex was a turn off! My wife has been in menopause for the last 10

years. So sex has been nil for us.

I came out of menopause about 6-months ago with a vengence! I have had

NO desire for a woman whatsoever. Only men! In fact the last couple of

boyfriends I've had, I have had very STRONG feelings for. All I ever do

is fantasize being with a man.

The only problem they were Bi not gay. So the friendships have come and

gone. Doesn't help living in a very rural area. I'm out to myself at the

moment but no one else except for my therapist. We are working on a few

things. Mainly dealing with coming out so late in life. I been having

problems dealing with the fact that I have wasted 45 years hiding behind a

label and lieing to myself, family and friends.

Now I find myself wanting and needing a man in my life but I'm afraid that

if I really try and it happens, what about the uncertainties that I'm having at

the moment? Would it be fair him to get into a relationship while I'm in

therapy? Should I put finding a relationship on the back burner until I

finish therapy? I'm not sure at this point on how many more sessions I'll be

having but safe to say at least 4 more.

So I figure once I'm able to come out to my wife and daughter I can start

getting my life in order. Hopefully that will be very soon!

2. bi2me

Welcome to EC!