1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dating (no experience of anything)!

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Siarad, May 16, 2015.

1. Siarad

I am repeating some stuff I have put elsewhere, but this is on my mind a lot at the moment.

I am 29 (30 on 1st June) and I only came out when I was 27.

At university I had a boyfriend but I only kissed him, never slept with him (for obvious reasons, in hindsight!) I have also kissed one other man since when I was dallying with a relationship with him. The second man I kissed, I was more mature and told him that it really wasn't working for me because I thought I was gay. Other than those experiences, I have no experience of relationships.

Now I've come out, I've made some brilliant (mostly gay men) friends and I'm really enjoying my new-found LGBT social life, which has left me feeling happier and more content and secure in myself than ever.

I have now met (through online dating) a very nice, beautiful woman who I get on very well with. We have met twice now. I was absolutely terrified the first time, as I had never really been on a first date before. It was a lot more relaxed and friendly the second time. We are trying to organise a third date (although it's difficult as we both live very busy lives).

The trouble is, I feel absolutely out of my depth in the dating world. I don't feel like I know anything about signals or knowing when to make moves, or how to make moves, etc.