1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The twirling messages in my head

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by 0617, May 27, 2015.

1. 0617

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    So, I have posted these thoughts in different previous posts, but for some reason I just cannot get past these issues. I have accepted that I am gay, but I keep getting caught up on the fact that I have waited so long to actually start living my life how I want to (as opposed to being controlled by family). And this doesn't even pertain to just my sexuality, it is about my ENTIRE LIFE. I'm not a rocket scientist, but I consider myself to be a decently intelligent, educated person. How in the world did I allow this to happen? Why did I wait until I was almost 40 to finally start living authentically (or trying to live)? (And also, in the back of my head, what the hell happens if I happen to croak now? How freakin' angry will I be then?) The thought then turns slightly to the left and begins to morph into "Well now what do you do?" I have absolutely zero relationship experience (and I am talking in all areas). How does that happen? Granted I am not model material, but come on - NOTHING? How do you enter the game in the 9th inning when you have never been at bat before? When the storm clouds get particularly dark, I have a continuing ticker through my head of "What the :***: is wrong with me that I can't get any reaction from anyone at anytime?" Ugh. I try my best to stay positive. But sometimes I just wonder if I am not better off just becoming a hermit. :dry: I'm not sure what I am looking for here - success stories?, encouragement?, fellow rants on the impossibility of finding fellow gayness in cornfield, conservative, bible belt regions? Sorry but I felt the need to slightly rage. Thank you.

2. OnTheHighway

Gender Pronoun:
    He