1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting used to myself

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by crazydog15, Jun 23, 2015.

1. crazydog15

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    How long does it take to get used to the idea of being gay? I've been fighting myself for 20+ years now, so there's that to consider, and I didn't really decide to figure out my sexuality once and for all until about three months ago. I want to be through this and fully accept being gay already, but I've read some people on here taking years to fully be okay with who they are.

2. greatwhale

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    By figuring it out "once and for all", what did you mean?

Coming out to myself meant one very important change in mindset: I gave myself permission to be gay, and by that, I mean I gave myself permission to look at and admire guys, or to no longer pretend that I found girls attractive in a sexual way.

It may also help that you may be confounding the newness of this realization with not being fully OK with it. If that is the case, go out there, meet people and be gay! It's something you will find is quite a pleasant thing to get used to!

3. skiff

skiff Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Some want change but reject all change. Hard to make progress with emergency break hard on.

Accept some change and things change.

4. TheStormInside