1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Are gays accepting?

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by crazydog15, Jul 28, 2015.

1. crazydog15

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    So I'm working through the coming out process, but like everyone, I guess, I'm new at everything. New at flirting, new at sex, new at all the other hobbies I've repressed all these years, blah, blah, blah. So here's my question: do other, more experienced, gay guys understand that? Are they okay with that? Accepting of it? Or am I just handicapped for some period of time? Or am I just wrongly assuming that every gay guy out there at this point has been out for some time?

2. Chiroptera

Admin Team Full Member

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    LGBT are normal people, just like everyone else. There are great people, and unfortunately, there are ignorant people, just like in other places.

Just remember that ignorant people aren't worth your time, so focus on finding nice people.

#2 Chiroptera, Jul 28, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2015
  3. AKTodd

Depends on the gay.

Some guys will be totally accepting and supportive. Some won't care much one way or the other. Some will hold it against you.

Some may find it a turn on and/or attractive and go out of their way to try to get with you.

Something to keep in mind: if you treat something about yourself as deserving of shame or ridicule, the odds are good that some number of people will step forward to agree with you. On the other hand, if you treat it as just one aspect of yourself and no big deal, the odds are good that an even larger number of people will step forward to agree with you.

Todd

4. Leifa

Different people react in different ways, sadly the entire community isn't always hugs and rainbows. Over all my experience has been positive though.

5. Moonflower

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian