1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How soon do I need to let someone know I'm a newb?

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Sue Baloo, Aug 1, 2015.

1. Sue Baloo

I am pretty confident in my sexuality, and I think I blend in well with other lesbians and gay men too, without even trying, which brings up the issue, at what point am I supposed to let people know that I am a newb? It shouldn't be a big deal I would think, but sometimes people will crack jokes, and it makes me realize it might matter to some. I don't want to deceive people, but I don't want to be judged before people get to know me either. :confused:

2. MelonBurrito

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    From Des Plaines! Hello from a former Chicagoan. :slight_smile:

But what do you mean you are a Newb? Like....freshly out of the closet?

If that is the case...I'd say that if it naturally comes to conversation, talk about it. Or if it is something that you feel you should say before people meet you, then tell them. The correct people wont judge you, and these people will help you bring your confidence. If someone cracks a joke...just remember, it's a joke. :slight_smile: It's meant for fun....try to roll with it, let go of the self judgement and self analysis.

3. Sue Baloo

Thank you. :grin: I only came out to my kid's dad a little over a year ago...so it's even new to me. It took me falling head over heels (though it didn't last) with a woman during that time, for me to finally realize that I was gay and didn't need someone else to tell me. But now it just feels right, like there is no adjustment to make, coming out was what was missing all of these years. I hope that makes sense.