1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What happened to him?

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by BMC77, Aug 26, 2015.

1. BMC77

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Some thoughts and observations thread...

Last night, I was looking through an on-line archive of student newspapers from what I'll call Undisclosed University, where I was a student when I was 18/19. I had a specific motive--verifying some info. But I accidentally "took the wrong turn" and selected the wrong year.

Or was it the wrong year?

Well, there can be no denying it was the wrong year for what I was looking for. However, like the wrong turn in the road that leads one someplace interesting where one might not have ever gone, I found myself faced with an interesting feature that talked about being gay at Undisclosed University. Or perhaps I should say homosexual--that word was heavily used. It was probably chosen for perhaps journalistic reasons; however, it was jarring seeing homosexual so much. These days, I seldom hear homosexual used, except by people making derogotory comments about the "homosexual lifestyle" which is really pissing off the fundamentalists' God.

Much of the feature was pretty much the stunningly obvious. A student survey showing that students think society doesn't treat gay people well. Suggestion at homophobic issues at Undisclosed University. The comments about fear of HIV/AIDS (certainly a big deal at that time).