1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Jealousy

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Sorrel, Sep 22, 2015.

1. Sorrel

I've just been to a conference where my colleagues from all over the world attended. One of them being a woman I studied with, and I've always been very fond of her. So when she suggested we rent a place together for the duration of the conference I actually jumped up and down. In the end, it didn't happen because it was a last-minute plan and we couldn't find anything, so I stayed at a hotel.

This girl is sensitive yet outgoing, and very attractive. Briefly I was a bit of a shoulder to cry on for her, as she was breaking up from a long-term (straight) relationship, then falling for 2 different men shortly thereafter. She knows about my own "dead" and unfulfilling long-term (straight) relationship (which recently ended, but she doesn't know that).

When I arrived in the city of the conference I kept seeing her. Was that her across the street? Was that her over there? I ran into her at the supermarket. My face lit up. We parted ways and later that night I began allowing the idea that I might have a crush on her.

During the first days of the conference my mind drifted to her. In a room, I was aware of where she was seated and when she spoke, it felt good to be permitted to look at her face. We had agreed to find some time to catch up and talk about life, like we do when we see each other. I was looking forward to spending time alone with her. However, we aren't close friends at all.

I noticed how I felt more shy than usual around the women. I took care not to be too "weird", too interested in them or enthusiastic around them. I noticed how I was much more casual and open around the men. I didn't feel threatened by them or evaluated by them, which is what usually happens.