1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Seriously, how did you know "for sure"

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by confused04, Sep 29, 2015.

1. confused04

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    I feel like I am in the minority here. I am not married, and yet I am almost 35 and "still" questioning my sexuality.

I feel like I will NEVER know for sure if I am gay or bi or straight. I have never had sex, and when I did date (in HS/college), I never went past a certain point, sexually. The anxiety was too great, and then I just stopped trying to date altogether after I graduated college.

My senior year of college, a friend and I got extremely close, and were inseperable. She slept over a bunch after parties in my bed, though we just basically passed out. We ocassionally danced together (wasted) at the bar, and sometimes held hands as we walked home from the bar. I thought nothing of it, and I was always hammered when these things happened. One night she kissed me and I was like "Ummm....I like you as a friend, but I am straight."

Fast forward to that summer. I graduated, fell apart, realized *maybe* I liked her more than a friend? Told her, but also said "I can't deal with that right now." UGH. I HATE myself for saying that! It ended our friendship, and she's now married to a man. I literally was going through a massive depressive episode and didn't know it, and just couldn't handle any more stress than what I was dealing with.

12 years later, and the loss of that friendship still makes me sad. And confused. I've basically isolated my life into: "Go to work. Come home. Feed Cat. Watch Tv. Go to sleep." Rinse and Repeat for the past 12 years. I have 1 friend and that is it.