1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

came out to a friend.

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by ebda30, Oct 6, 2015.

1. ebda30

Out Status:
    A few people
    ...shes known ive been having some issues for some months. She toldme she wasdying to know what was going on.i said what the hell, you donr know anyone. And told her i was 95% sure my identifying as bisexual was not exactly accurate.

You know what she said? " I knew it!!" she said her gaydar went off the moment she met me(ive known her about a year now, shes gay). she says im not good at hiding it. But wtf, seriously. Of the two people I've told otherthan my husband neither were surprised.

Now im wondering if others know?? Makes me a little nervous. Butholy wow was it very nice to have this hugely open conversation with her. I had this huge walking on air feeling the whole time, she shared some of her coming out story and struggles and we are a bit similar so that was cool too.

Just wanted to share :slight_smile:

2. baristajedi

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    That's great! It's so nice to be able to get it out in the open with someone supportive!!! Very brave!! How are you feeling now? Still elated? :slight_smile:

---------- Post added 6th Oct 2015 at 01:44 PM ----------

Oh and just to add, I've had many people over the years tell me that they are sure I'm attracted to women. People can read your body language and your demeanour even when we're in denial ourselves.

#2 baristajedi, Oct 6, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2015
  3. Chicagoblue

Let's say 5 others know...people that you know. Has anything changed?

People are pretty accepting.

4. CapColors

Hugs! I proud of you and glad it went so well!

Yeah, I've had the opposite experience; everyone I've told has been like REALLY NO WAY. I guess they all thought I was as straight as I thought I was.