1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

confused

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by bette, Dec 19, 2015.

1. bette

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hi I am new to this but needed somewhere where I can say exactly how I am feeling.
    After a few drinks I told a friend last night that I thought I was gay, she was great and flattered that I felt able to tell her. I am in my 40's have never married and have no children. If I am totally honest with myself, (which I feel I am now starting to be) I have always known I felt attracted to women. Have had some short relationships with men but I never felt totally comfortable with them. I have several gay friends but have never had a same sex experience.

What do I do now? Part of me feels I have started something by telling someone that will become out my control, despite trusting this person. And I want to take it all back. Another part of me feels relieved and like a weight is off my shoulders having finally told someone. And now maybe even able to talk it through properly, rather than the internal dialogue continually going around my head. I occasionally see a therapist to discuss other issues in my life but have never been able to discuss my sexuality with him despite being able to open up about everything else. I intend to whenever I have an appointment but then start discussing work issues etc. I don't know why this is as I have discussed many other personal issues with him(he is gay himself). Its daft but its almost as if I am embarrassed I haven't said anything sooner.

I am still very much confused but cannot stop thinking about it. Will friends think I have been lying to them for years (nowhere near ready to even think about discussing this with family) pretending to be something I am not.

Apologies if this is a bit rambling its difficult to say clearly how I feel.

2. crazydog15